The Lady Gray

A household chronicle

in the blink of an eye

Leave a comment

In the blink of an eye, my baby is 6 months old. I’ll do her 6 months post later after I do her 6 month photos.

Little Genevieve is a true joy. I maybe should have named her Joy instead, since she is the embodiment of joy. Last night she laughed, hysterically, for probably an hour put together. Her little face lights up all day, every day. She sees strangers, she grins. She sees people she knows, she grins. I have never seen such a happy, friendly, smiley baby. It takes a lot to get her down.

Now that I’ve talked about how happy she is, let me tell you how sad she was last night. For some reason, she could not stay asleep. For the first few hours after I put her down, she would wake up, crying. Every time I’d go in, comfort her, put her back to sleep. It was incredibly frustrating. I’d complain to Jake – this child will not stay asleep! Fuck, tonight will be terrible! Then I took a shower, and the baby woke up. Jake went in to comfort her, and she freaked. If she wakes up and it’s him instead of me, it’s over. Bless him, he stayed with her, trying, until I got out of the shower. She was pretty distraught by this point. I took over, held her small body in my arms, and nursed her to sleep. I continued to hold her, staring down at her round face made easy by sleep. Her body was heavy in my arms. I could tell that all she wanted was the comfort and safety of being held by me, her mother.

There’s something strange about motherhood. This tiny being takes, takes, takes from you. They take all day and all night. Just when you think there’s nothing left to give, they take more. And somehow you make do. You give when you thought there was nothing left. Your baby does something small and sweet and you think: okay, you can have everything. Everything and more that I have to offer. The way that Evie sank so deeply into my arms – that was her small gift to me, allowing me to dig deeper, give more. Every morning when she wakes up I sing “good morning, good morning, to you! to you! good morning, good morning, to you!” and her face lights up into the biggest smile possible. It gives me the jumpstart I need for the day – even when I’ve been up all night.

I just can’t even believe that my baby is 6 months old. It’s true what they say – the days are long but the weeks are short.

Author: ladygray7

Part time student, full time mama! I'm studying ASL and when I'm not doing that I hang with my tiny human.

Leave a Reply

