The Lady Gray

A household chronicle

6 Months

Leave a comment

I’m not quite sure how, but my baby’s 6 month birthday has come and gone. It’s almost a miracle. We’ve all survived! The little tiny baby who was practically blind and could simply exist but not really do anything except for sneeze has turned into someone completely magical. She smiles, beams, laughs, giggles, coos, babbles, whines, has little fits when you take her toy away or is somehow displeased…

She is technically about 6.5 months now and has developed quite the personality. Here are some things I don’t want to forget:

  • She loves naked time. If she could be naked constantly she would be so happy. This is why I have baby pee on all the things!
  • She LOVES dinnertime. It’s when she gets to eat. I make her baby food by steaming stuff and pureeing it with breastmilk. So far she’s tried apples, bananas, sweet potatoes, peas,zucchini, and avocado. She likes all of it, but either the bananas or the avocado upset her tummy. Also apples seem to make her fussy so she doesn’t get those any more. Zucchini, peas, and sweet potatoes are particular favorites of hers.
  • Bath-time is a huge hit. She’s figured out how to splash, which is messy but fun!
  • She rolls around all the time. She can’t crawl, so she just helicopters around. She’s started trying to do some planks so I think crawling is coming soon. I don’t want her to start – I’m fine with her being partially mobile!
  • Starting to like books more – still mostly wants to eat them!
  • I’m working harder on some baby signs with her. We have a DVD and that’s the only tv that she watches.
  • She still loves the dog and the cat. The dog is her best bud and the cat tolerates her nobly.

Some things I’m not sure I want to remember:

  • Still not sleeping through the night. But, we very recently took the front panel off of her crib and pushed it up against our bed. I feel like it’s a good transition to her sleeping in her own space.
  • Separation anxiety has begun. It’s not always, but we have started to get some hollering if I walk out of the room or if she feels like I’m too far from her. It’s particularly nasty at night when she wants to sleep attached to me.
  • She vomited for the first time which was really sad!!
  • She desperately wants to sleep on her belly but has a very hard time falling asleep like that. It has led to a lot of frustrated crying throughout the night.
  • Her naps are still about 45 minutes tops. She needs minimum 3 of those a day, but 4-5 is better. If she gets less than 3 naps she is a hot mess by bedtime.

The doctor said she’s very “healthy” when referring to her recent weight gain. At her 6 month appointment she weighed 15 pounds 14 ounces and was 27 inches long. Quite the gain! I need more 9 month clothes for her and I’m going to have to start putting away more of her 6 month clothes. She can’t even fit in her 6 month jammies!

IMG_1984IMG_1991IMG_1999

The newer hairs growing in are lighter which makes me very sad. I want her to be a brunette like her mama!

Author: ladygray7

Part time student, full time mama! I'm studying ASL and when I'm not doing that I hang with my tiny human.

Leave a Reply

